Skip To Main Content

Advisory Council

Ready Start Advisory Council 

The advisory council advises and helps the network to make decisions to support the network’s mission and vision.  The advisory council will:

·        Ensure that necessary policies and procedures are in the bylaws

·        Approve and update the network blueprint

·        Advise on programs and initiatives to improve early childhood care and education

·        Endorse the allocation of funds to accomplish the goals outlined in the blueprint

·        Ensure transparent, collaborative decision-making is in place


2023 Advisory Council Members

David Alexander, Superintendent, Ascension Parish Schools

Dr. Edith Walker,  Chief Instructional Director, Ascension Parish Schools

Mary McMahan, Supervisor of Early Childhood Programs, Ascension Parish Schools

Hope Gautreau, Director of Head Start Programs, Ascension Parish Schools

Jackie Tisdell, Vice President, Leadership Ascension Foundation

Ken Brass, State Representative, District 58

Donald Songy, East Ascension Rotary Club

Lisa Bacala, Community Member

D-D Breaux, Louisiana State University, Retired

Joni Buquoi, Owner and Director, Safe Harbor Learning Center

Torry Payne, Owner and Director, Little Learners Preparatory Academy

John Diez, CAO Ascension Parish Government

Barbara Guthrie, Community Member, Retired Principal

Dr. Mistie Lasseigne, Nicholls State University Teacher Education

Dr. Libbie Sonnier, Louisiana Policy Institute for Children